A Game of Fox & Squirrels

Par Jenn Reese

$22.99

A 2021 Oregon Book Award Winner
An NPR Best Book of 2020
A Finalist for the 2021-22 Maine Student Book Award

Andre Norton Award finalist Jenn Reese explores the often thin line between magic and reality, light and darkness in her enchanting middle grade standalone.


"Brings to life, viscerally, what it is like to live in fear of abuse—even after the abuse itself is over. But there is magic here too, and the promise of a better future that comes with learning to let people who care about you into your world." —Alan Gratz,New York Times-bestselling author of Refugee

“A captivating and touching story… both whimsical and emotionally—sometimes frighteningly—compelling.” —Ingrid Law, Newbery Honor-winning author ofSavvy

"Magically creative and deeply honest,A Game of Fox & Squirrelsmerges games and grimness in a fantasy tale that tells the truth." —Elana K. Arnold, Printz Honor-winning author ofDamselandA Boy Called Bat

After an incident shatters their family, eleven-year old Samantha and her older sister Caitlin are sent to live in rural Oregon with an aunt they've never met. Sam wants nothing more than to go back to the way things were… before she spoke up about their father's anger.

When Aunt Vicky gives Sam a mysterious card game called "A Game of Fox & Squirrels," Sam falls in love with the animal characters, especially the charming trickster fox, Ashander. Then one day Ashander shows up in Sam’s room and offers her an adventure and a promise: find the Golden Acorn, and Sam can have anything she desires.

But the fox is hiding rules that Sam isn't prepared for, and her new home feels more tempting than she'd ever expected. As Sam is swept up in the dangerous quest, the line between magic and reality grows thin. If she makes the wrong move, she'll lose far more than just a game.

Perfect for fans of Barbara O'Connor, Lauren Wolk, and Ali Benjamin,A Game of Fox & Squirrels is a stunning, heartbreaking novel about a girl who finds the light in the darkness... and ultimately discovers the true meaning of home.

Dans les deux langues SVP!

Nos libraires sont experts en littérature en français et en anglais. Disons adieu aux deux solitudes!

Options de livraison abordables

Livraison gratuite au Québec pour toutes les commandes de 75 $ et plus! Options de livraison locale peu dispendieuses pour les commandes plus petites.

Commandes spéciales

Vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez? Contactez-nous pour commander n'importe quels livres neufs disponibles sur le marché. C'est facile et rapide!